Back to Blogging After a Decade

It was 10 years ago that I started my first blog. At the time, blogs were still relatively unknown, and it seemed like what I was doing was truly groundbreaking! However, I was a freshman in college and my blog was just that; the blog of an 18 year old. A great deal has changed in my life since that time, but the striking similarity between now and then is the fact that I am back in college (for the second time). That’s right. You can do the math. When I was in college (the first time), I thought I wanted to be a lawyer or lobbyist and decided to major in political science. After college, I wanted to surround myself with politics and moved to Washington, DC where I earned my Master of Public Policy. I worked on the Hill, interned at a lobbying firm, and even had a job where I wrote political fundraising letters. This was the life that I dreamed of, right? After grad school, I worked for a few years at a non-profit, and then entered the world of consulting. I sound like the typical Washingtonian living the good life, right?

So, what happened? I forgot to mention the fact that while I was in college (the first time), I managed to weigh over 190 pounds. I loved the all-you-can-eat buffets at the dining halls, late nights at the diner where I ordered milkshakes and mozzarella sticks, and well, anything fried and unhealthy. My cholesterol was through the roof and was subsequently put on a statin at the age of 21. My doctor would always say, “Just lose some weight.” But I didn’t know how. I grew up essentially eating whatever I wanted. Down the street from my house growing up was a Pizza Hut, Wendy’s, and Dunkin Donuts, and across from my high school was a Burger King and McDonalds. To say that I had awful eating habits would be an understatement. But I always had an excuse that it was in my genes. “It’s not my fault.” “I’m big boned.” “I’m just meant to be overweight.”

Yup that was me (approx. 190 lbs)

At the end of my senior year of college (again, the first time), I decided that I was going to attempt to lose a few pounds. I didn’t change my eating habits (because I didn’t even know where to start with that), but I had no problem hitting the gym. I had been going since high school, so I knew that if I kicked up the intensity of my workouts, I could probably shed some pounds. And I was right. I started running and lifting weights, and after a few months, I lost over 10 pounds. People started to notice the weight loss, and that made me feel really good about myself!

The summer after graduation, I woke up one morning and realized that if I’m going to seriously lose weight, I’d need to start changing my eating habits. And I wasn’t going to be able to do it by myself. I knew a lot of people who had lost weight through Weight Watchers, so I decided it would probably be my best chance at success. That first day on the program was incredibly hard, but it was the best thing I could have ever done for myself. I am now over 65 pounds lighter, healthier, and happier.

My weight-loss experience completely changed my outlook on life, and even influenced what I wanted to do with my career. I discovered a new-found passion for nutrition, wellness, and overall health. After a lot of soul-searching, I decided to quit my well-paying job in consulting (during a recession, mind you) to go back to college to become a Registered Dietitian! So that’s my story (a fairly abbreviated version, but my story nevertheless).

65 pounds later!

Now you understand the “well-nourished” part of the blog, but what about the “traveler?” Well, as you may have guessed, I absolutely love traveling and exploring the world. Along with discovering new places, I get excited accruing frequent flyer and hotel points. It’s my guilty pleasure! So why not combine my two passions, nutrition and travel? Exactly.

I’m excited to be blogging again after 10 years, and look forward to what the future has in store!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Back to Blogging After a Decade

  1. Lindsay

    Congrats on starting this blog! I am very proud at where you came from and what you have made of yourself! Can’t wait to follow you on this blogging journey!

    Love your sister,

    Lindsay

  2. Wow! Congrats on meeting your goal!!! Really very impressive!!

Leave a Reply

