5 Minute Breakfast Tacos (For Lunch!)

When I woke up this morning, I knew I had to really take advantage of my day off and maximize my time. I have a big food chemistry test tomorrow night, so my day would be spent primarily studying. I didn’t want to really think about dinner later, so this morning I prepped ingredients for crock pot recipe, and it’s been simmering for hours. Dinner, check!

However, around 12:30pm, I realized I had no idea what I was going to eat for lunch. I really didn’t want to take out too much time from my day to make something, so I looked in my fridge and was clueless. Nothing seemed easy, except for eggs. But then I realized my dinner tonight is Mexican-themed, and I have tons of extra ingredients. Why not make a quick and easy breakfast taco using eggs (for lunch!) and cross-utilize ingredients from my dinner recipe? The taco was assembled in 5 minutes, and my tummy was subsequently made happy.

5 Minute Breakfast Tacos

5 Minute Breakfast Taco

Yields 1 taco

Ingredients

3 egg whites

1 corn tortilla

3 tablespoons salsa

2 tablespoons cilantro

pinch of freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Preheat skillet to medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Crack eggs and separate the whites into a bowl. Add pinch of freshly ground black pepper and mix gently. Add eggs to pan and scramble until cooked thoroughly. Meanwhile, heat corn tortilla for about 10 seconds in microwave and then place on plate. Once eggs are done, add to tortilla. Top with salsa and cilantro. If you have sour cream, cheese, avocado, onions, or anything else that might make these tacos delicious, feel free to add!

Who says you can’t have breakfast for lunch, or for dinner?

How have you cross-utilized ingredients to make multiple dishes? 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “5 Minute Breakfast Tacos (For Lunch!)

  1. Amy

    Lunch tacos are a great idea! I’ll have to give them a try. I always keep some salsa and egg whites in my fridge!

Leave a Reply

