My Trip to Smucker Farms

When I first heard about Smucker Farms of Lancaster Co. opening in DC, I thought, “How freakin cool!” Growing up in Baltimore, I used to frequently go up to Lancaster County, PA with my family and we’d buy lots of local produce and goodies from Amish and Mennonite Farmers. Smucker Farms was conceived by Eric Smucker as a way to bring his Lancaster heritage to us urban-dwellers in DC.

Although Smucker Farms has been open since December, and I literally live 7 minutes away, I still hadn’t paid a visit. However, I found the perfect excuse to shop! I’ll be writing about this later on in the month, but I joined a group called Foodie Penpals where we are matched once a month with a fellow foodie, and we send up to $15 worth of goodies to our new friend. I could have gone to Whole Foods or Trader Joes, but I figured I would find some really awesome, local food at Smucker Farms (and I was right!)

I’m not going to talk about anything I purchased for my foodie penpal because that’s still a surprise, but I wanted to share some of the great products they offer that I’ll definitely be returning for. When I entered, I noticed it was such a cute shop with a lot more products than I had expected!

I LOVED these jars that have the ingredients for making your own cookies. What a great gift idea!

I also really thought their selection of flours and grains was great. I recently bought some whole-wheat pastry flour from Whole Foods, but next time I need some more, I’m definitely going to try Daisy.

I was also excited to see Soupergirl products, which I’ve also been meaning to try! I decided to buy the whole-wheat peanut noodle salad, and it’s delicious! I’ll need to try out some of her soups next time.

They also have a wonderful selection of meats and dairy, including Trickling Springs Creamery, which I love and decided to buy one of their ice creams. 🙂 Smucker Farms also has lots of sweet treats and even some body products and candles for sale.

They even had a cute kids section with toys! What kid wouldn’t love?

What a nice trip to Smucker Farms! It totally lived up to my expectations and cannot wait to return. I had such a fun time selecting goodies for my foodie penpal (it was so hard to stop shopping, but I had to keep to $15!)

After shopping, I built up an appetite and remembered that Fast Gourmet was right around the corner. I’d been a few times with my husband, but it had been awhile since my last meal there. Fast Gourmet is located in a gas station. No joke.

But they have delicious food! What gas station do you know that offers cuban sandwiches, empanadas, lamp wraps, and lemongrass coleslaw? Yeah, I thought so.

All-in-all, I’d say I had a fun little afternoon full of yummy food finds!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My Trip to Smucker Farms

  1. omg yay!!! how perfect for foodie penpals!

  2. Carmen

    Did you get the chance to try the Daisy Organic Flour?

Leave a Reply

